Tantra, Illness, and Gender

Years ago, when I studied Public Health at university I remember getting upset about the ease with which men present statistics for breast cancer. It seemed to be their favourite topic! I mused on the penchant to discuss a kind of cancer you yourself are never likely to get. As a tantric massage practitioner I often see people who are or have been quite ill, often with prostate cancer. I have very few woman clients (not by choice! Women!), and now find myself in a situation where I as a woman deal with men’s health and well-being. However, far from presenting statistics, I try to be really present with my whole being, and channel health and energy to my clients, adapting to them and to what has been discussed. I feel honoured by their sharing of intimate and painful details. I am beginning to learn that women can and should heal men, and the other way round. This is especially true in relationships and marriages. At times, the emotional involvement with your partner is too strong to really allow you to heal, though. Our partners have their own needs. I am beginning to see my role as that of a naked priestess, which is not really a role acknowledged by society at all. What a shame that doctors these days deny their spiritual tasks towards their patients, and priests don’t and should not allow close physical contact or nudity. Lives get saved in hospital, health is being restored, but who looks after the emotional wounds of being poked in intimate areas, and not being able to make sense of the illness. I  listen, I see – and you can see me too! TOUCH – proper touch – is a reminder… because we all KNOW, deep down. Let me show you – your SELF. Hold on – not your EGO really…. Self wants surrender. What a nice word. Surrender. Surrender…. Even nicer in German: HINGABE.

About Sarani

Experienced and skilled Tantric Massage Practitioner and Certified Sexological Bodyworker in East London, Leyton.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment